About Mummy & Blogger Babies

My photo

Blogger Babies and Mummy believe in sharing resources and ideas to enable the best possible care and support of our vulnerable.

To Donate to The Edith Ellen Foundation

Friday, 5 August 2016


Safeguarding - The update

Under new legislation passed in 2015 Safeguarding now covers 10 Key components

This is the original 5 (pre 2015)

1.       Physical Abuse

2.       Sexual Abuse

3.       Financial or Material Abuse

4.       Psychological or Emotional Abuse

5.       Neglect or Acts of omission

The Additional components

6.       Self-neglect

7.       Domestic Violence or Abuse

8.       Modern Slavery

9.       Discriminatory Abuse


** Organisational or institutional abuse is the mistreatment of people brought about by poor or inadequate care or support, or systematic poor practice that affects the whole care setting. It occurs when the individual's wishes and needs are sacrificed for the smooth running of a group, service or organisation.

Also in 2015, the government made clear the 6 Safeguarding Principles

1.       Empowerment

2.       Protection

3.       Prevention

4.       Proportionate Responses

5.       Partnership


*** accountability /əˌkaʊntəˈbɪlɪti/


noun: accountability

the fact or condition of being accountable; responsibility.

"lack of accountability has corroded public respect for business and political leaders"


"there must be clear accountability for the expenditure of public money"

"ministers' accountability to parliament"
Post a Comment